Wednesday, April 29, 2015

June Banquet Honors Oregon Journalists; Nominations Sought for "Rookie of the Year" and "First Freedom" Award

It's that time again! Banquet time! Time for food, drinks and awards (not to mention fabulous company). Save the date for June 6 at Linn-Benton Community College in Albany.

It's centrally located, so encourage your Southern Oregon colleagues to join us. Tickets will go on sale soon and will be cheaper than they have been in recent years, $25 each.

In the meantime, send us your nominations for the following chapter awards:

Rookie of the Year: This award goes to a journalist who had his or her first full-time reporting job during 2014. Internships do not count, but nominees can have been hired full-time at any point during the year.

Editors should submit a letter of recommendation and three clips. Submissions should be mailed to Hannah Hoffman, 4159 River Road N., Keizer, OR 97303. Deadline for submissions is May 29.

Winner receives a $500 cash award.

First Freedom award: This award goes to a nonjournalist who has worked to push for more open records and government in Oregon. Examples in the past have included district attorneys, nonprofits and citizen bloggers. Nominations should demonstrate a tangible impact of some kind and should be submitted to the address listed above. Deadline is May 29.

We hope to see you all at the banquet on June 6. It is an excellent opportunity to reconnect with the journalism community, to share stories and to appreciate each other and the important work we do.

Please forward this notice to anyone in your newsrooms who may be interested in either nominating someone for an award or attending our event in June.

See you in June,

SPJ Oregon President Hannah Hoffman

No comments:

Post a Comment